University Of Alberta Dentistry

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Welcome to our blog, In todays topic, we will be talking about University Of Alberta Dentistry. We will give you all the details you need about University Of Alberta Dentistry. Stay with us.

About University Of Alberta Dentistry

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, is home to the University of Alberta’s Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry.

It is one of Western Canada’s oldest medical schools and has 21 departments, two independent divisions, 9 research groups, and 24 research centers and institutes. It was founded in 1913. On or near the University of Alberta north campus, 29 buildings house educational, clinical, and research activity.

More than 1,400 support staff members, 2,760 clinical educators, including six National 3M Teaching Fellows—highest Canada’s teaching honor for post-secondary instructors—work for the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. A 2013 economic impact study found that the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry contributed almost $2 billion to the economy of Alberta in 2012.


In 2018–19, the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry had a $166 million research budget.

Together with the University of St. Andrews School of Medicine and the University of Edinburgh Medical School, the school manages the Scottish-Canadian Medical Program, which is regarded as one of the best medical schools in the world in terms of reputation and research output.

Students receive their undergraduate education at St. Andrews and receive their clinical training in Alberta and Edinburgh. At the University of Edinburgh, graduates have received both Canadian and British training. The majority of students are assigned to residencies in either Canada or the United States, with the remainder choosing to work in the United Kingdom.

READ ALSO:  University Of Alberta Hospital


Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Dentistry, Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Science, and a diploma or Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene are the four fully approved undergraduate programs offered by the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. In the fall of 2016, the 2013-founded Bachelor of Science in radiation treatment received an accreditation assessment. Additionally, it provides 20 graduate programs with a focus on health sciences and more than 50 residency programs that are fully accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

More than 2,600 students are enrolled in the undergraduate, graduate, residency, and postdoctoral education programs of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, and more than 14,000 health professionals and researchers have graduated from its programs.


  • James Collip – played a role in the development of insulin
  • Ban Tsui – developed the Tsui Test, a simple protocol using a low current electrical stimulation test to confirm catheter location in the epidural space during procedures.
  • John Carter Callaghan – Performed first open-heart surgery in Canada in 1956.
  • Gary Lobay & Henry Shumizu – part of the team of surgeons to perform Canada’s first successful limb replantation in 1974
  • Gary Lobay – first microsurgery in western Canada in 1974
  • Henry Shumizu – co-founder of western Canada’s first burn treatment center
  • Lorne Tyrrell – created the first drug treatment of hepatitis B and 2015 Killiam Prize recipient. Former dean (1994-2004) and member of the Order of Canada.
  • Ray Rajotte – international diabetes leader, renown for work related to the Edmonton Protocol islet transplantation procedure
  • James Shapiro – member of the team that pioneered the Edmonton Protocol and continues to work to improve islet transplants
  • Richard Fedorak – internationally renowned gastroenterologist specializing in inflammatory bowel disease. Former dean of the faculty (2016).
  • Michael Houghton – co-discoverer of hepatitis C
  • Tak Wah Mak – first to identify and clone T-cell receptor genes
  • Joseph B. Martin (MD ’62) – member of the team that discovered a biomarker that led to locating the gene associated with Huntington’s disease.
  • Jonathan White – co-founder of Surgery 101 podcast and National 3M Teaching Fellow
  • Arya Sharma – Canadian obesity expert
  • Lori West – Canada Research Chair in Cardiac Transplantation and director of the Canada National Transplant Research Program.
  • Toshifumi Yokota – pioneered antisense oligonucleotide-mediated therapeutics for muscular dystrophy.
READ ALSO:  University Of Alberta Nursing After Degree

Thank you for reading our todays post on University Of Alberta Dentistry. We hope it has been helpful.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave a comment